You are inHome - About Us

About Us  |Citizen Charter


| Challans |Life Certificates| FAQ's|

Directorate of Treasuries

Directorate of Treasuries was set-up in 1965 with its head quarters at Lucknow for proper control and supervision of Treasuries. The Director of Treasuries has been declared Head of Department and he is assisted by one Additional Director, two Joint Directors, one Dy. Director and one O.S.D. in performing his duties. All these officers belong to U.P. Finance and Accounts Services. The Director has also been declared appointing authority of Assistant Accounts Officers, Assistant Treasury Officers, Sub Treasury Officers, Staff of Pay & Accounts Office New Delhi and Jawahar Bhawan Treasury Lucknow. He has also been empowered for the cadre management of these Officers. The functions of Directorate also include:

Divisional Additional Directors of Treasuries and Pension:

During the course of time, number of transactions handled by treasuries has increased many fold and it was necessary to ensure a proper control and supervision over their working and also to improve the quality of work. Therefore, offices of Additional Directors of Treasuries have been set-up at divisional level, the duties and responsibilities of which include the following:

Treasury Officers:

Chief Treasury Officers are posted in most of the treasuries situated at Commissionery Headquarters, and the district treasuries have by and large been upgraded to Sr. Treasury Officer level. The Treasury Officer is Head of the Office and Drawing and Disbursing Officer of the Treasury and Sub-Treasuries under the Treasury. The immediate executive control of the treasury vests in the Treasury Officer. His duties chiefly consist of authorising payments of all kinds of bills as are supported by proper sanctions; disbursement of pensions of State Government pensioners as also Civil and Military Pensions of the Government of India; safe custody of stocks of stamps, opium and valuables in the treasury and maintenance of the initial accounts of all receipts and payments of Government money in the treasury and sub treasuries of the district for use by the Accountant General. The responsibility of budget control has also been entrusted upon the Treasury Officers by a Govt. Order dt June 6, 1994. The work related to the Group Insurance Scheme of Govt. employees has also been transferred to district treasuries. The Treasury Officer is also required to inspect the sub-treasuries in the district. He is responsible to the Government and the Accountant General for the validity of every claim passed by him for payment. For day-to-day administrative purposes, he works under the District Magistrate

A Treasury is divided into two Sections, a Cash Section under a chief Cashier and an Accounts Section under a Assistant Treasury Officer. The Chief Cashier is in-charge of Cash Section and is responsible for safe custody of cash, stamp and other valuables which are kept in Double Lock. One set of keys of Double Lock is kept by the Chief Cashier and the other set of the keys remains with the Treasury Officer/Sr. Treasury Officer/Chief Treasury Officer. In a Sub Treasury, one set of keys of Double Lock is kept by the Deputy Cashier and the other set of keys remains with the Sub Treasury Officer. The Chief Cashier is also in-charge of the Single Lock. The Accounts Section keeps the accounts of all Govt. receipts and payments and also the accounts of Personal Ledger Accounts, Govt. deposits and cash and credit limits.